Virginia State Police Welcomes 40 New Troopers to its Ranks

Media Release – August 5, 2021

RICHMOND – On Friday, Aug. 6, 2021, the Commonwealth will graduate its 134th generation of Virginia State Troopers. The 40 new troopers will be presented their diplomas during commencement exercises at 10 a.m. at the State Police Training Academy located at 7700 Midlothian Turnpike in North Chesterfield County. Governor Ralph S. Northam will be in attendance of the graduation ceremony.

The new troopers have received more than 1,300 hours of classroom and field instruction in more than 100 different subjects, including de-escalation techniques, strategies to assist people in mental health crisis, ethics and leadership, fair and impartial policing, constitutional law, emergency medical trauma care, and public and community relations. The members of the 134th Basic Session began their 27 weeks of academic, physical and practical training at the Academy January 28, 2021.

The soon-to-be graduates of the 134th Basic Session are from every corner of the Commonwealth, as well as California, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Tennessee and the country of Venezuela.

Upon graduation, the new troopers will report to their individual duty assignments across Virginia the week of August 16. For their final phase of training, each trooper will spend an additional six weeks paired up with a Field Training Officer learning his or her new patrol area.

Media are welcome to attend.


Name Hometown Assignment
Shawn Scott Allen-Dickson Chesapeake Norfolk/Virginia Beach
Christina Marie Araujo Haymarket Prince William
Elmon Garnett Arrington Richmond Prince William
Sesaly Marie Barden Reston Springfield
Ethan James BarlowAbingdon Dinwiddie
Frederick Joseph Boos, III Ellicott City, Maryland Norfolk/Virginia Beach
Barret Lee Brown Lynchburg Prince William
Zachary Randy Duty Bristol, Tennessee Dinwiddie
Hector R. Estevez De La Rosa Clifton, New Jersey Henrico
Zane McKinley Forbes Collinsville Prince William
Mikella M. Fuccella HartfieldGloucester
Micah James Gardner Blacksburg Accomack
Katherine Rita Glasscock Burkeville Cumberland
Carter Lance Goodbar Lexington Henrico
Jessie Lee Green Farmville Chesterfield
Caleb Durand Grissom Archdale, North Carolina Northampton
Lewis Cole Johnston Gloucester Hampton/Newport News
Andrew Patrick Jordan Nathalie Buckingham
Anthony Vincent LaPiana Long Island, New York Frederick
Carlos Eduardo Landaeta Monsalvo Maracaibo, Venezuela Prince William
Kevin M. LeSage Atco, New Jersey Greensville
Anthony Brian Lovell PoundBotetourt
Michael Lee Lynch Tazewell Botetourt
Yuridia Diaz Lynch Machipongo Northampton
Timothy Jordan Martin Wytheville Prince George
David Wesley Meyers Chesapeake Norfolk/Virginia Beach
Jonathan Porter Mills Farmville Hanover/Henrico
Jacob Barrow Moore Bedford Campbell
Robert Dillon MoranStaunton Hanover/Henrico
Maximilian Kolbe Radel Spotsylvania Henrico
Sean Aaron Russell Chilhowie Charles City
Andrew Lee Smith Rustburg Norfolk/Virginia Beach
Minh Dominic Starzewski San Pedro, California Hampton/Newport News
Nathaniel Gray Stephens Lovettsville Norfolk/Virginia Beach
Harrison Glenn Stewart Palmyra Fluvanna
Jeremy Lucas Vinson Oak Ridge, North Carolina Appomattox
Austyn Anthony Weaver Huntington Beach, California Henrico
Kaye Anne Marie Woods EbonyBrunswick
Daniel John Wright GloucesterNorfolk/Virginia Beach
Travis Scott Wyatt ChesterfieldChesterfield

134th Basic Session Motto: Duty to Protect, Honor to Serve

Regional Media Contacts

  • Statewide

    (804) 674-2789

  • Richmond

    (804) 553-3494

  • Culpeper

    (540) 829-7713

  • Appomattox

    (434) 352-7128

  • Wytheville

    (276) 228-3131

  • Chesapeake

    (757) 424-6827

  • Salem/Roanoke

    (540) 375-9598

  • Fairfax

    (804) 674-2789

Find VSP on Facebook!